Thoughtful and thorough legal representation for over 40 combined years.

Underage drunk driving charges in Oklahoma

On Behalf of | Jul 6, 2023 | DUI |

It is pivotal for teens and the parents of young drivers to understand the harsh penalties for underage drunk driving in this state. When it comes to minors operating a vehicle with alcohol in their system, Oklahoma is very strict, and the penalties in this state are serious. In fact, a driver who has not reached the age of 21 could face time behind bars, depending on the details of their case.

Many families find themselves in this position unexpectedly, especially if they do not understand the state’s zero-tolerance policy.

The penalties for underage drunk driving

According to the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office, underage drunk driving is a criminal offense in this state. Oklahoma has a zero-tolerance policy, which means that if a law enforcement official detects any alcohol in a driver’s system and they are under 21, the young driver faces a DUI. Underage DUI charges can lead to the mandatory use of an ignition interlock device as well as license revocation.

In addition, drivers under 21 who refuse to submit to testing could face misdemeanor charges resulting in a $1,000 fine and 10 days behind bars.

Other hardships resulting from underage DUI charges

Not only do these cases cause families to face serious court-imposed penalties, but many other problems can surface due to an underage DUI. For example, a young person could face challenges with respect to their studies, current job and future employment. A shattered reputation and emotional issues such as depression or anxiety can also affect those charged with underage drunk driving, which highlights the importance of addressing these allegations correctly.